Honor

I was recently asked if I still wanted to be a cop in light of the current public opinion of police officers.  My answer, without hesitation, is now more than ever.  Just like the squeaky wheel gets the grease, the loudest mouth gets the news coverage.    Despite what appears to be a nationwide loss of trust in law enforcement, we aren’t any less busy.  Do you know why?  Because the nation still needs us, and the majority of this country knows we would sacrifice our lives to protect them.  They know we still respond 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year because we believe our efforts make this the greatest country on Earth.  I still honor my oath to protect and serve every day because I know it makes a difference.  I’ll help an unemployed citizen that considers me a fascist pig if they are in need just as fast as I’ll help a tax paying grandmother who makes my precinct fudge during the holidays.  Just because someone is ignorant, that doesn’t mean they don’t deserve the best I have to offer.  If you think cops are unfair, biased, power-hungry thugs that harass you for no reason and need to be filmed every time they sneeze then there’s a good chance you’re the problem.  It’s likely you and your family are why I have a job.  In that case, we’ll be seeing you soon.  My coworkers and I are going to continue to lace up our boots and buckle our belts just like we’ve always done because this country needs cops.  You need cops.  You’re welcome.

One Response to Honor

  1. Hi There says:

    “Cops […] need to be filmed every time they sneeze…” Cops have a lot of power. Not all cops are good guys, so (to me) it makes sense for them to be monitored. Evidence of behaviour – of you, of those with whom you interact – tells the rest of us (i.e., the public, those you serve and protect) the story. Rather than relying on what people *say* happened, it allows an objective account that shows visually and aurally what actually took place. It’s a good thing: the scumbags, no matter which “side” they’re on, are visible to all. It would also, I believe, inform the public about how the vast majority of interactions are the people we pay doing their jobs admirably in the face of unpleasant and demanding circumstances.

Leave a Reply

