Challenge

I love being a cop because it challenges me.  It challenges me physically.  It challenges me mentally.  It challenges my patience.  It challenges my sarcasm filter.  It challenges my ability to stay awake on a Tuesday night in the middle of January.  Without challenges I don’t grow.  I don’t become a better cop.  I don’t become a better person.

With that being said, every once in a while I appreciate being thrown a bone.  I appreciate a guy leaving his credit card on the bar when he runs out on an unpaid tab.  I appreciate a drunk telling me they couldn’t even pass sorbriety tests if they were sober.  I appreciate a crack head admitting she’s wearing her own pants.

What I’m trying to say is that I appreciate you breaking into cars after two inches of fresh snow.  As much as I like running with the K-9 (remember I enjoy physical challenges), I barely had to engage my brain to follow the footprints.  You did make me climb a fence, but that’s why I do pull-ups.  Leaving the cardboard box you were hiding in open wasn’t even the icing on the cake.  The proverbial icing was the footprints leading up to every car you broke into.

Thanks for the…uh…challenge.

4 Responses to Challenge

  1. So, what’s your name? What department do you work for, other than Fantasy land? I’d really like to know if you’re for real or just a fantasy blogger. If you’re for real, why do you not use your real name? Also, most departments keep tabs on their officers. If you’re a real officer, then you’ve probably told one of your partners about this and they’ve told your superiors. How is it that you’re not in trouble with your superiors for posting a blog about your experiences as a police officer. Maybe I’m wrong but how can you really prove that you are who you say you are…Hmmmmm??

    • inkedcop says:

      My actions as a police officer are all on the up-and-up. I didn’t ask for permission to blog about my job, and don’t see why I would need it. A lot of my coworkers, and several of my supervisors, subscribe to my blog and read it regularly. I know deputy district attorneys and defense attorneys that read it as well. I look forward to the day a defense attorney brings it up in court. I don’t use names in my posts, including my own, to protect the innocent, the guilty, and the alleged. Plus, I don’t need my fans knocking down my front door because they think I’m so awesome. My job isn’t a secret, neither are the actions of the citizens I work for. I’m sure you watch the news, read the newspaper, glance at magazines, subscribe to blogs, etc. All of these outlets freely publish citizens names and activities; why shouldn’t I be allowed to? I’m not sure what you’re fascination is with finding out my name and the agency I work for, but that’s one of the reasons I don’t publish that information. Cops are under enough scrutiny as it is, justified and unjustified. I don’t need extra. I appreciate your interest in my blog, and I appreciate you reading it and telling your friends about it. For now, I prefer to be anonymous.

  2. Taryn says:

    Hey,
    I’m thinking about becoming a cop but the thing I’m a bit concerned if its the right fit.
    I know Id really enjoy the physical side but can you let me know a bit more about the mental side of the job – I guess there’s a lot of thinking on you feet but do you feel like you are challenged mentally every day? Do you ever get bored by the job?
    There aren’t many opportunities to talk to actual cops in regular life so would be great if you could elaborate. The reason I am leaving my current professional career is I don’t find it interesting or motivating and I would like to help people so every piece of information I can get on police life helps me know if I am making a good choice.

    Cheers,
    Taryn

    • inkedcop says:

      Taryn, Start by doing a ride-along with your local agency. Spending a couple of shifts with cops can be very enlightening. Police work isn’t for everyone, but on the other hand, police agencies are comprised of every type of person. It’s like any other line of work, or team; it takes all types. A baseball team wouldn’t be successful with nine pitchers on the field. A police agency won’t be successful if it’s full of overbearing type A personalities. We have those, but we also have soft-spoken, gentle soles. There are obviously specific traits that you need to be a cop. You already touched on decision making. There are moments during every shift where you don’t have time consult a flow chart when you have to decide what action you’re going to take. That’s where common sense and training take over. It also helps to have the ability to talk to people. As much as I like a good fight, verbal wrestling is usually the best option.

      I’m challenged every day because I choose to be. I don’t shy away from calls or duties. My favorite part of the job is there is always something to strive for; promotion, K-9 handler, SWAT, gang task force, detective, narcotics, motors, etc. There are so many options you could never be involved in everything in just one career. Ask your local agency, police or Sheriff, if they offer citizen training. My agency offers a citizen’s academy where the public can go through the same exact training officers receive when they’re hired. You’ll never know if it’s for you unless you try. We can always use another good cop out there.

      Keep me updated, and let me know if I can answer any more questions.

Leave a Reply

