Contact

Hey you, yeah you, guy that was just at his ex-wife’s house.  You remember that restraining order?  I know you do because you’re lying to me about just being over there.  It’s 5:30 am, 45 degrees outside, and I can see heat radiating from the hood of your car.  There are four other cars in the driveway, each of which has seat covers worth more than your car, so don’t tell me one of your roommates must have borrowed yours because it was parked closer to the street.

Do you know what the awesome thing about restraining orders is?  You don’t have to agree with the terms.  If you agreed with the terms, she probably wouldn’t have had to get the restraining order in the first place.  When you called her at 5:00 am and tried to block your number (violation), then drove over there and parked in the driveway (violation), and knocked repeatedly on the door (violation), you reinforced her decision to get the restraining order in the first place.

All of the excuses you’re puking out right now aren’t worth a dime, and are actually more annoying than the lying was.  That’s why the restraining order is 57 pages long.  It covers those excuses.  Judges know guys like you are going to try everything in the book to contact their ex-wives.  Here’s a news-flash for you.  I talked with your son this morning.  You kind of creep him out too.  I have a feeling you’ll be receiving an amendment to the restraining order in a couple of days.  I suggest you read it.

 

2 Responses to Contact

  1. Don Penven says:

    Your post have brightened my day. I have been checking out the “Top 50 Police Blogs” just out of curiosity. The blog that I am under contract to write for and post on got an award too: “Top 25 Forensic Blog.”

    I can only encourage you to keep writing. Maybe one day you can put all of these “short stories” together into a novel. I’m not suggesting non-fiction since very few people would believe that these situations confront police officers nearly every day.

    If you need a publisher I suggest PublishAmerica.com. They published my novel, “Surrogate Warrior,” but they seem more intent on selling books to their authors than they do places like Amazon, Barnes & Nobel, etc.

    Anyway, watch your back,

    Don

    • inkedcop says:

      Don, Thank you for your comment. I’ll have to check out your blog. Our office has a quality forensics team, so I don’t generally get the opportunity to hone my skills. I work graveyard though, so we are typically required to perform some tasks for which a dayshift deputy would call a tech.

      I love to write. My problem is I write incredibly slow. That’s the reason short blog entries work well for me. I also journal about my job while on and off duty. I’m not sure what I’m going to do with those journals, but I plan on publishing them in some fashion at some point. I might make it a combination of journals/blogs/insights. I’ll be sure to let everyone know if that idea ever comes to fruition. Thank you for the advice on a publisher.

Leave a Reply

