Cycle

I don’t care what caused you to nut out. You’re not the only person alive who caught his sister putting Barbie clothes on Skeletor and Man-E-Faces. That doesn’t mean they’re not allowed to be within 1000 feet of a park or a Baskin Robbins.

I guarantee I’m not the only kid in the history of the seventh grade to learn the waistband of my Hanes could touch the back of my neck while I was still wearing them. That doesn’t mean I get to kidney-punch some total stranger in The Sharper Image for looking at me longer than I’m comfortable with.

Regardless of what happened to you when you were a child, you’re still responsible for your actions now. I’m sorry your mom drank enough Kentucky Lightning to drown a buffalo while you were still in the womb; you’re still responsible for your actions. I’m sorry Biff took your milk money every Tuesday of your entire third grade year; you’re still responsible for your actions. I’m sorry the longest conversation your dad ever had with you included the words beer, fetch, and shut up; you’re still responsible for your actions.

If a dozen people decide someone else is at least partly to blame for how you turned out, thus partly to blame for what you did, you still shouldn’t be given the opportunity to commit another crime for which you will again blame on said person. If that means the only natural sunlight you ever see again is reflected off a thirty foot concrete wall I’m not going to cry. It also means I won’t have to listen to someone you victimized blame their actions on what you did to them when they were a kid. It’s called breaking the cycle, and if you’re lucky, that’s all that will get broken.

The way I understand it, you’re the one that will be wearing Barbie clothes in prison. Good luck with that He-Man.

3 Responses to Cycle

  1. loharp says:

    It’s been a long time since an update…Our briefings have been dull.

    • inkedcop says:

      Thank you for your note. I have been busy. My schedule has recently changed, and I’m sure you know how much changing shifts can affect a lifestyle. I’m stoked you’re reading my posts at briefing. We try to lighten our briefings up a bit too. Tell your team I said hello, and I’ll write as often as I can.

  2. Luke says:

    Are you ok man? I am a fellow cop and love reading your blog. You’re so right on cue about everything you write. You haven’t written anything in a while and know that being a cop can be busy….just wanted to say thanks for making me and my wife laugh and we hope you are doing ok.

Leave a Reply

