Expiration

Excuses, unlike Twinkies, have a shelf life. If you run a new stop sign that’s only been up for a week, and you’ve been driving down that road for 25 years, I’m going to accept that excuse. I’m not going to accept it three months from now. That excuse will have expired. If you just moved here from Wisconsin last month, and you didn’t realize this state requires a license plate on the front of your car, I’m going to accept that excuse. I’m not going to accept it six months from now. That excuse will have expired.

Your son crashed your car into a mailbox and two parked cars because he was driving too fast on a residential street and lost control. You let him drive to the store everyday, even though he’s only fourteen, and obviously doesn’t have a driver’s license. Your excuse is that you’re from Mexico, and fourteen year olds can drive in Mexico without a license. Let’s check the expiration date on that excuse. How long have you lived in the United States of America? Answer: Eighteen years. EXPIRED!

2 Responses to Expiration

  1. Big C says:

    Hey don’t you think your being to hard on them? I mean come on twinkies can survive a nuclear holocost and a zombie uprising. When you consider this doesn’t crashing at 14 seem to be a non-point? I mean that 14 year old may have to go into the sex trade now just to survive to make it to the thunderdome. I hope you and Mad Max sleep well at night, because my heart bleeds for these people you oppress.

    • inkedcop says:

      Wow Big C, just, Wow. I can say with confidence, that’s the first time I’ve ever been lumped in the same category as Mad Max. I’ll admit that I have always sort of fantasized about fighting in the thunderdome though. It’s sensitive teddy bears like you that help balance out sadistic, oppressive people like me in this world. Human kind needs us both. Eamon

Leave a Reply

