Planning

You’re inability to plan for unforeseen consequences isn’t my problem. You decided to leave your kids with a babysitter all day yesterday. You decided that babysitter would be your handicapped father. You decided to drink alcohol until 2 am. You decided to drive home from the bar. What do all of those decisions have in common? They weren’t mine. I decided to not just let you walk home from where I stopped your car. I decided that a stern lecture wasn’t going to teach you a lesson. I decided that I was going to hold you responsible for your decisions.

Hopefully you learned something tonight. Next time you decide to drive drunk, call your boss first, and tell him you might not be able to make it to work on time because your decision could land you in jail. Next time you decide to drive drunk, call your father first, and tell him he may have to raise your kids because your decision could get you killed. Blame me for your newly acquired problems if you want, but my conscience will be clear when I get home tonight, on time, and sober.

Leave a Reply

